## History Of



Troy Education Association Michigan Education Association National Education Association

	History of Troy Education Association
Circa	
1850-1885	Smith Middle school constructed (District #4 Building) - presently Special Education Center
1876	Poppleton School constructed
1877	Big Beaver constructed; Colerain constructed; Niles constructed; Troy Union constructed; first addition to Poppleton.
1930s	MEA sub-group formed at Big Beaver School District (first sub-group in Oak land Co.) Tenure –State Act passed and tenure was voluntary by districts adopted it.
1948	Formation of Troy Teachers Club. Mr. Stuart K. Baker hired as the first Superintendent of Schools.
1950	Troy High School constructed; Lillian Anderson, President, Troy Teachers Club.
1951	Gladys Musselman, President, Troy Teachers Club.
1952	Boyd Larson, President, Troy Teachers Club; second addition to Poppleton school.
1953	Earla Smith, President, Troy Teachers Club.
1954	Gladys Bradford, President, Troy Teacher Club; Baker School constructed.
1955	Jean Keller, President, Troy Teachers Club
1956	Jean Keller, President, Troy Teachers Club; first addition to Niles, Third Addition to Poppleton.

1957	Miriam Nyquist, President, Troy Education Assn.; Mr. Rex. B. Smith hired as superintendent; Morse Elementary constructed; addition to Big Beaver Elementary. <u>Salary</u> - \$3800 B.A. <u>Base</u> - the first district wide base salary to be established. Teachers still bargained salaries independently. One teacher with an M.A. and one year experience received \$4,575. <u>Staff</u> - 100 teachers in the district. <u>Association</u> - Troy received charter from MEA, sent delegates to Region and Repre-sentative
	Assembly.
1958	Larry Lage, President, Troy Education Assn.
1959	Clyde Peterson, President, Troy Education Assn.
1960	Ron Bentley, President, Troy Education Assn. Leonard Elementary constructed; Addition to Morse Elementary. <u>Insurance</u> - first comparison for Blue Cross and MEA insurance compiled by John Schaff.
1961	Dick Gerwick, President, Troy Education Assn.
1962	Adam Marvar, President, Troy Education Assn.; first addition to Troy High School.
1963	Robert Nyquist, President, Troy Education Assn.
1964	David Helser, President, Troy Education Assn. <u>Tenure Act</u> - Tenure was adopted by the state to apply to all school districts in Michigan. <u>Negotiations</u> - The first negotiating team was composed of Don Hill, Spokesman; Jack Acton; Adam Marvar; Mr. Ally; and Larry Lage. The Public Act providing for negotiation became effective.

1965	Don Hill, President, Troy Education Assn. ; second addition to Niles. Tenure- Meeting commencing to develop a policy on tenure.
1966	Marvin Smolinski, President Troy Education Assn.
1967	Don Hill, President, Troy Education Assn. (second term) ; Smith Middle school constructed. S.O.D.A– South Oakland Districts Assn. Was formed by: Clawson, Ferndale, Hazel Park, and Troy. Mr. Dale Robinson was hired as Executive Secretary.
1968	James Fenner, President, Troy Education Assn. Hill Elementary School constructed; Wattles Elementary School construction.
1969	Lowell Crandall, President, Troy Education Assn. ; Mr. Paul Liddicoat was hired as Superintendent. <u>Negotiations</u> - First Two year contract; John Lanman, Spokesman. <u>S.O.D.A.</u> - Mr. Tom Fette was hired as Executive Director to replace Mr. Dale Robinson. Ms. Sharon (Sivic) Bednarski was hired as secretary.
1970	Clem Kolesar, President, Troy Education Assn.; Schroeder School constructed; second addition to Troy High School. <u>S.O.D.A.</u> – Lamphere became part of S.O.D.A
1971	Barb Blakemore, President, Troy Education Assn. ; addition to Hill School; Addition to Troy Union. <u>Negotiation</u> - Doug Ferguson, Spokesman, two year contract. <u>S.O.D.A</u> - Mr. Sid Dickstein was hired as the second Executive Director of S.O.D.A

1972	Tony Cornellier, President, Troy Education Assn. ; Mary Stoolmiller; Vice President; Sue Tyler, Secretary; Sue Davies, Treasurer.
1973	Tony Cornellier, President, Troy Education Assn. (second term) ; Gerry Johnson, Vice President ; Sue Tyler, Secretary ; Sue Davies, Treasurer ; Administrative Center constructed ; Costello Elementary School constructed ; Martell Elementary School constructed ; Larson Middle School constructed. Negotiations- Jon Haezebrouck, Spokesman, two year contract.
1974	Gerry Johnson, President, Troy Education Assn. ; Steve Shotwell, Vice President ; Jean Allen, Secretary; Heston Bates, Treasurer; Boluan Park Middle School constructed; Athens High School constructed.
1975	John Lanman, President, Troy Education Assn. ; Dale Cratsenburgh, Vice President; Mary Schultz, Secretary; Heston Bates, Treasurer ; Dr. Don Shader hired as Superintendent. Negotiations- Sid Dickstein, Spokesman, two year contract. Constitution- New Constitution established: two year terms for officers, Judicial Board established, Trustees are added from each level. The first Trustees were: Elementary - Robert Dunn; Middle School—Sharon Alexander; High School—Diane Lea.